Kindle prices vs paperback prices

18 Jan

OK, I don’t know how many people out there have Kindles or any ebook readers, so this might not apply to you.

I’ll use a book I just received today for an example…

I Am Legend

Yeah, yeah I know, the book’s been out for a while.  I loved the movie (WILL S.!) I’ve seen it…I dunno, a BUNCH of times.  I finally figured I’d get the book and see what all the hubbub was about vis-a-vis the book is so much better than the movie.  I’ll let you know where I fall on that issue after I read it….

ANYway, the book measured at 5 1/2″ x 8 1/4″…bigger than the standard paperback…kinda like a “soft” hard cover, know what I mean?

Kindle price as of 230p est on Amazon…. $7.19 USD

my “paperback”…….$2.50 NEW…got it for .01 + $3.99 S&H (used) so $4.00…

that’s a side issue though…

Using Amazon’s prices ONLY…..Kindle $7.19….MASS MARKET paperback…the el cheapo cover….$7.99…my book that I got….$10.17

How in the heck do distributors justify an ebook being only .80 CHEAPER than the cheapest paperback?!  There’s no printer, ink, paper charges. Also, no shipping, storage, postage…the list goes on.

I know a lot of writers self-publish on Amazon.  I think Amazon should have a place for it’s customers to sign up and volunteer to proofread, edit, etc  for some of these guys, personally, but that’s something for another day too.

But, the big guys who list on Amazon REALLY need a reality check. They want to treat ebooks like a physical thing.  I see the future coming…they’re gonna price themselves out of business because the writers will wise up and start self-publishing because the profit margin is so much higher.  I’ll bet ANYTHING the writers aren’t getting a bigger piece of the ebook sales. It’s just padding the publishers pockets….greedy b**tards.

I know several good authors on Amazon and most of them either self-pub or have created their own online pub companies with other authors…

ROCK ON GUYS!!!!!

Good for you. Why give away most of the profits from your sweat, blood and babies to somebody else?  YOU DESERVE IT. I know you still might have to pay for pro editors or whatever; BUT your share’ll be much higher over all, won’t it?

Hey, BTW—how the heck can I become an editor if I need experience, but I can’t get experience because nobody’ll hire me because I don’t have any experience? If you understood that random thought..’splain it to me. ok? 😛

Cya \m/

Leave a Reply

